T.I. Prepares For Prison Sentence

POSTED BY: Jaye Watson

Add me on twitter: LiciatheHHELP

ATLANTA — Rapper Clifford “T.I.” Harris will be sentenced in federal court at 9:30 a.m. Friday.

Don Samuel, Harris’s defense attorney, says his client will be sentenced to 12 months and one day per a binding agreement with the court. Adding the one day to Harris’s sentence allows for 15 percent of the time to be served to be shaved off.

Samuel says Harris will spend approximately ten months behind bars, in a federal prison yet to be determined.

In October of 2007, federal agents arrested T.I. in a midtown parking lot as he was trying to buy machine guns and silencers. He pled guilty and received the one year sentence in exchange for one year of community service.

T.I. has spent the past year on a nationwide odyssey, trekking through 25 states, speaking to thousands of teens, telling them how not to wind up like him. One of T.I.’s last speaking engagements was at Georgia’s Supreme Court last month.

During his talk he told teens, “I know what’s it’s like to walk outside your house and on the way to the bus stop you see six drug dealers, seven robbers, three or four prostitites, a hundred junkies, all on the way to school. I know what’s it’s like to walk outside your house and look around and say well how am I supposed to be any better than what’s around me. I answer that question by saying you become better than what’s around you by believing you can be better than what’s around you.”

He urged the teens to stay in school so they can eventually have everything they want.

“Those of you who ain’t found out how to sacrifice a good time now for a great time later, you ain’t going to never have nothin’ period,” he said.

Asked what his greatest regret was he said, “If it wasn’t for all the things I’d done I wouldn’t have went through the experiences and I wouldn’t have gained the knowledge that I have right now that allows me to stand up here in front of you and tell you what not to do.”

Samuel says T.I. went way above and beyond what the court required of him this past year, but that he didn’t do it hoping for a reduced sentence. Samuel says the sentence was binding and that there was never any chance it would be reduced. T.I. will report to a federal prison, yet to be determined, in the middle of May.

Taken from: http://www.11alive.com/news/local/story.aspx?storyid=128438&catid=3
2 Responses to “T.I. Prepares For Prison Sentence”

  1. […] Original post by thehiphopentertainmentlawproject […]

  2. I think that T.I is a wonderful man to be able to stand up and let these kids know what not to do and give it to them real we have so many parents that don’t let there kids know that videos are not real and that you have to make your own way in life by doing positive things and getting an education yes we listen to rap and I love it but like I tell my kids that is that rappers story and they are telling you what they have been through and look where they are know because they turned there life around so when we see people like TI going through and still yet doing positive things and admitting that what he did was not cool it makes me very happy TI keep up the good work hold your head and I will be praying that god keep you and your family protected God bless

Leave a Reply

